Emerging Artists Fund

Video created by Asheville High School senior Kai Lendzion.

The Diana Wortham Theatre

Y.E.S. Emerging Artists Fund Scholarship

Download the 2017 Y.E.S. Emerging Artists Fund Scholarship Application

Diana Wortham Theatre is proud to support young performers by providing scholarships for graduating high school seniors pursuing a career in the performing arts. A limited number of scholarships beginning at $1,000 each will be awarded to finalists. Submission deadline for 2017 scholarships is 5:00 p.m. Friday, January 27, 2017.

About the Y.E.S. Fund

The Emerging Artists Fund is an outgrowth of the Y.E.S. (Youth Education Scholarship) Fund, which was created to make it possible for underserved students to attend Diana Wortham Theatre school programming. Scholarships, made possible by private donors, cover the cost of admission and are available to students on a free or reduced lunch program. The Y.E.S. program expanded in 2015 to cover artist workshops in local schools and the Emerging Artists Fund.

Who can apply for the Emerging Artists Fund?

Any student graduating from high school in 2017 may apply. Applicants must currently be permanent residents of Buncombe County, must intend to pursue a career in the performing arts, and must receive a recommendation from a teacher, instructor, or mentor. If you have a question regarding eligibility, you may call 828-210-9837.

How do I apply?

To apply for a scholarship, applicants must complete an application, create an audition video, and obtain a recommendation from a teacher or mentor. The 2016 scholarships have been awarded. Applications for 2017 are now being accepted. Submit materials to Diana Wortham Theatre via email or mail by 5:00 p.m. January 27, 2017. Submission of an application does not guarantee an award.


Visit our FAQ page for additional information.

The 2017 Y.E.S. Emerging Artists Fund Application are now being accepted. Clicking here to download current application.

For further information contact:
Rae Geoffrey
Diana Wortham Theatre
2 South Pack Square, Asheville, NC 28801
828-210-9837 or rae@dwtheatre.com



(l to r) Kai Lendzion, Michelle Padron, and Luke Haaksma, Class of 2016 seniors from Asheville High School, backstage at a special concert in March 2016 announcing the Diana Wortham Theatre 2016 Emerging Artists Fund scholarship winners. Padron and Haaksma were each awarded a $1,000 scholarship to the school of their choice — Padron for her spoken word poetry and theatre, and Haaksma for his piano performance. Lendzion provided video elements during the performance. Photo by Michael Oppenheim.

Document Actions
« February 2017 »
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
123 4
56 7 8910 11
12 13141516 17 18
192021 22 232425
2627 28
The Next Stage Capital Campaign. Learn More | Donate


Upcoming Events

Ladysmith Black Mambazo, February 27 & 28, 2017 at 8pm

BCA Winter Works web banner

Los Lonely Boys web banner



Personal tools